Do You Believe in Karma?

30 Sep

Fate and karma are two philosophies I have a difficult time buying into; some believe that we find our path not by hard work, but by the universe leading us there. I’m not so sure. Then again, I am a seriously hard worker who believes that you get out what you put in, so I guess it’s not a shock that I can’t get on these band wagons. BUTTTTTT (you knew it was coming, didn’t you?!), there are some times when I cannot help but step back and ask myself if maybe fate or karma did have a little hand in a situation.

A few personal examples of my own.  First, when I accepted my first PR job, I had to move to BFE all by my lonesome however, I was all gung-hoe being that I was the Director of Communications for a Big 3 facility.  I wanted to move up in my career and I was willing to suffer for it. Approx. three weeks later, as I am running around prepping for my first huge state of the business meeting I have a knock at my office door.  As I look up, I find myself locking eyes with the

man who will one day be my husband.  He was at that location on assignment at the same time as me, we’re both from MI, went to similar colleges, similar interests – it was hard to say fate didn’t have a little part. Even I can’t 100% deny it.

Fast forward to today and the reason this post is about fate and karma.  Recently, I had a very very terrible experience with a now ex-best friend. I won’t go into details, but long story short she hurt me in a serious way that ended our friendship for good. She was hurtful and never considered my feelings – basically, she went too far and never looked back to even attempt to apologize or reconcile (not that it would have done much). Our friendship is over, which is truly too bad since we have been close for over seven years.  It was a hard loss.  Well, today, my other bestie informed me that said ex-friend is in the hospital, not doing well at all and the docs can not figure out what is wrong.  OK- these are the moments folks. I cannot help but think that if you put negative energy out in the universe, maybe it does come back to get you one way or another. Please don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to say she deserved this in any way. It is difficult to hear that someone you once cared about deeply is ill and not be able to do anything.  I guess it just gets me thinking.

Is karma really a bitch? I’m not sure. But sometimes I can’t help but wonder…

Leave a Reply

