December Goals

3 Dec

With the last month of the year just kicking off, and with me contantly working to find balance in my life, I thought, “B, why not set some goals to survive this holiday season with some grace, dignity and a little fun?!”

So, here they are:

1) I will remember that life will always hand you lemons (or a boat load of snow) and the best we can do is make lemonade. We all know that this is the craziest and most hecktic time of year. It is a given that people will drive slow, you will have a huge to-do list and spend hours in a mall. What we can do is focus on our reaction.

2) Spend more quality time with those I love. This is something that has seriously been lacking in my life. Between work, my 2.5 hour commute, skating practice with the competitive season just starting (good-bye weekends) and the gym, my days are BOOKED! Don’t call, cause I’m not home! 🙂 J/K. But with this very busy  lifestyle, I don’t get to spend much time with my hubs, pup and besties. Infact, I don’t even come home on Monday nights. I know, sad. But, I am home on Wednesday nights and will do my best that night and the other few I get a week to be focused on conversations, be engaged and enjoy the few moments of togetherness. Playing with my pup is one of my favorite things – why not enjoy it rather then running off to do laundry?!

3) Eat the best I can at ever meal, but also give myself a break. Wow, this will be hard. I am trying really hard to eat healthy, but the way goodies come into my office, it sure is hard (it’s like a scene out of the Biggest Loser when they put the temptation right in front of them). OK, sure, I only want to loose 3-5 lbs. but you get the gist. Temptation is around me ALL the time and I will make a concerted effort to take care of myself because I feel better when I do.

4) Workout as much as possible.

Now, I am not trying to be a nut here. But, I used to be a gym devote and I honestly miss it…A LOT. Working out is part of my day, but lately, it has been pushed to the way side in favor of sleep. My days are uber busy (as stated above), I’m on the road by 6:45am and home by 7pm-ish, which leaves little time for the gym when you want to eat, see your fam and take care of to-dos. Suddenly the gym is a thing of the past. I make efforts (walk at lunch, spin once a week, yoga once a week and cardio any time possible), but I have yet to find a good schedule or groove. Every day is different which makes it difficult. My hubs tells me I work out a lot, but I think it’s my lack of a consistant schedule that makes me feel like I am doing less then I might actually be. Maybe that should be my goal?

5) Bake and experiment in the kitchen! If there is one thing I love, it’s baking! I truly enjoy putting all the pieces together, mixing it up and then doing a taste test to rate the baked good. So much fun. So, I will try to bake at  least once a week…especially with the holidays coming!

6) And finally, a special one for the season: Enjoy the holidays and all they have to offer. I really love holidays from special foods that come around once a year, to Christmas music, traditions, family gatherings, drinks out with friends to celebrate, cozy sweaters and all the yummy scents…it truly is the most wonderful time of the year. OK, I could do without all the snow, but who can complain with a list like the one above?! The holidays seem to come and go so fast, I really want to take the time to enjoy them. There are a lot of little great moments that happen during the month and I want to focus on the now rather then letting my mind get caught-up in the to-do lists.

What are your goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

