Maybe the Birds Have it Right

5 Jan

I’m not sure about you kids, but I am getting a serious case of Antsy Nancy! Lately, all  I want to do is take a vacation away from all the craziness that is our day-to-day life. Now, I know what you are saying, “dude, we just got off winter break.”  Well, unfortunately, I did not have such the luxury. In fact, my ‘vacation’ consisted of a two long weekends (one for Christmas and another for New Years). It certainly didn’t leave much time to travel (and hello crazy price tags) or relax as I was hoping.

So, I got to thinking to myself, “Self, what is it that you are looking for? What is it that you need?” Unfortunately I did not have an answer as I am more than aware that my need to escape is simply covering some larger gap in my life.   But for now, a vacation is the only answer I can come up with…I mean, maybe the birds have it right. Who is nuts-o enough to stick around Michigan in the dead of winter anyway?

Now I am on a mission and could use some suggestions. I would like to take a long weekend trip somewhere fun and preferably sunny.  Any thoughts? I need to be able to get from A to B and back again in   4 days (either by plane, train or automobile), so no outside of the US trips this time around (besides, Europe is only 112 days away!).

3 Responses to “Maybe the Birds Have it Right”

  1. Liz @ LBBakes January 5, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Ah, I had ‘long weekends’ for holiday vacation as well!

    I’ve heard great things about New Orleans! And there’s always Florida.

    • BalancingB January 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Thanks for the ideas! I had Florida in mind, but New Orleans is a great suggestion. Maybe you need to come too! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shaking the Winter Blahs « BalancingB - February 10, 2011

    […] nine brings up a great idea – take a trip. So, we are! You might have remembered my post, Maybe the Birds Have it Right where I talked about my need for a change of scenery. Well, last week PG and I booked our vacation […]

Leave a Reply

