New Adventures in the Food World

6 Jan

Believe it or not, I am a newbie to the healthy, locally grown/organic food scene. And when I see all of the amazing posts of vegan this or organic that on my favorite blogs, it truly inspires me to be more adventurous and try out some new foods and cooking techniques.

As I mentioned in my ‘About’ page, my childhood did not include the kitchen by any stretch of the mind. While I can whip up a mean batch of my mom’s famous sugar cookies, I know little about the kitchen, food or cooking. But that is where all of the blogs and twitter come in. So, for my first food experience I took on greek yogurt.

Now I know what you are thinking, this is a joke, right? Nope, I just for the very first time tried greek yogurt and to be honest, I was not a fan right out of the gate. For those of you who may Vs in this world, I must say that it takes a few minutes to warm up to this high-protein, thick treat. For one, I am very odd about white food (I hate ranch, cream cheese, alfredo, etc) so this guy had some serious issues to overcome. But, after trying a few flavors, I am starting to really enjoy my Chobanis!

My goal is to try all of the flavors. So far I have had pineapple, pomegranate and raspberry (today in fact) and have enjoyed them all. I like to mix in a little bit of fruit or granola to help me get over the lumpy consistency (another issue of mine).

And best of all, I am stepping out of my comfort zone and trying something really good for me – SCORE! What are you affraid to try? I have quite a few on my list that will pop up here soon enough, but I guess you never know till you try!

5 Responses to “New Adventures in the Food World”

  1. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun January 6, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Chobani is my favorite. In fact those 3 flavors are. I agree that the thicker texture can take some getting used to at first though.

    • BalancingB January 6, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      It took me a while, but now I really love Chobiani. Next, I want to try to use it in dips and for other purposes.

  2. TheSceneFromMe January 6, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I was always afraid to try brussel sprouts, but a few weeks ago I made them and they were delicious! They are good roasted in the oven with some onions and parmesan cheese 🙂

    • BalancingB January 6, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Me too! I think all veggies taste great roasted so I gave them a whirl and am now a fan! But I’ll have to try with the onions and parm, sounds delish!

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    I am a huge greek yogurt fan. I grew up on my great grandmother’s homemade plain yogurt. I never liked all the sugared up sweet flavored yogurts. Believe it or not, have yet to try Chobani! I recently discovered Sigis – even thicker!

Leave a Reply

