Sad Mac

21 Jan

If you are a Sex and the City fan like me, you know just what I am talking about. In one episode, Carrie looses her hard drive on her computer containing years of writing and essentially her life. (Sad Mac face.)

Well, that was me last night. Lately, my iPhone has been out-of-wack in a serious way; no calls in, no calls out, VM on the fritz, all of my apps went kaput on Wednesday, etc. Needless to say, I was on the verge of tears as I live off of my phone. As a working girl, I am always on the go and everything, I and I mean EVERYTHING is on my phone. Not to mention all of the driving I do in a day in this winter weather, I need to have a functioning phone.

After missing an important call I decided enough was enough so I took myself and my BFF (aka iPhone) to the land of magic (aka the Apple Store). The employees always blow me away with their smarts, I mean, how do they know so much?! Once they called my name, they sat me down (much like SATC) to tell me the bad news; my phone was about to crash and I could lose everything. WHAT?! My life flashed before my eyes, how could this be happening?! Turns out, when I was plugging in my phone, for some reason the updates weren’t taking so in order to update my phone, I had to wipe out my memory. (I think this is when the tears started welling up.)

They sat me down, walked me through my three options from best case scenario (everything transferring to my iTunes, update then reinstall) to the worst – lose it all. We plugged her in and let the Mac Pros sprinkling their magic over the situation. After an hour, almost all of my music, pics, contacts, apps, etc had transferred (we lost 37 items in the move, I would like to take a moment of silence…). Then the scary part, see if the update would take. The Mac Pros sent me home (it was 9:30 pm at this point) and said to watch the bar at the top, it could take 2-4 hrs. So, we headed home to hunker down and wait it out.

Finally, after some quality time with the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (how good was that season finale?! I love that cast!) the transfer was complete and a success!! I spent the next hour trying to restore my phone to its original state but exhaustion set it and I finally crashed. It was an intense night, I didn’t know if my BFF was going to make it, I was stressed and not a happy camper.

Thank goodness for the magic dust at the Apple Store and their amazing peps who saved my third arm last night. It was a close call.

Now, I am trying to figure out my settings, reinstall information, organize and such….it feels like I have a new phone.  Although this was highly traumatic, I am so glad to have that behind me. Overall, the phone is working like a rock star and my nerves are starting to go back to normal. Sigh.

Just remember people – save, save, save! And if all else fails, find yourself a little magic dust.

Leave a Reply

