Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go

26 Jan

Happy Hump Day! It is truly the hump in my week, after today, it is clear sailing into the weekend. However, getting past the first half of the week and Wed am is not so easy.

Wednesdays actually start on Tuesday pm. After a full day of work (7am-6pm), I hit up the gym and arrive home around 7:30pm. At this point, I have about 1.5 hours to get a few tasks taken care of;

  • dinner
  • unpack and re-pack gym bag
  • prep lunch, coffee and breakfast
  • gather work clothes
  •  set out skating clothes for practice
  • load car with as much as possible in the pm, much better than in the am!

It’s a lot to do! But, preparation leads to a smooth sailing in the morning, and when the alarm is buzzing at 4am, I am always grateful for the effort from the night before.

Tights, yoga pants, top and layers ready to go!

I wake up and hit the shower followed by a trip downstairs to turn on the mud – this girl will be far from productive without a little caffine jolt- and let Henry outside. I then head back upstairs to get ready, dressed, kiss the boys good-bye and head out the door by 4:45am.

Ready to rock. Only the base layer, too hot in the car for the rest!!

The rink and work are just over an hour away, so after my commute, I spend two hours coaching the team. Afterwards it’s time for breakfast and work. Today’s breakfast was a new treat from the Golden Arches. I know, I know, I am not a fast-food girl so what was I doing in the drive-through? Well, you may have seen the promos for the new oatmeal. And guess who got a golden ticket to try the new stuff out on the house….me! Yahoo!

I swung into Micky Do-dos and ordered one up and headed into work. I have to say, I think my favorite part was the yellow spoon, I mean, how happy is that spoon?! Love it, especially first thing in the am. 🙂

The peeps at the McD’s really did it right, “with two servings of whole grains, about a half cup of fruit and is rich in vitamin C,” seems like a great start to your day!

The oatmeal was delish, full of flavor thanks to the sweet apples (I left off the raisins) and thick. I really enjoyed the taste and texture, however, there was A LOT of it! I picked at this bowl for almost 30 min and I was starving. As a  newbie to apples on oatmeal, I am definitely a fan and will be sure to try this out again!

The one problem was the mystery brown sugar. About half way through I thought to myself, “where is that brown sweetness?” Well, turns out it is hiding on the bottom. So be warned, you need to give this bad boy a big stir right out the gate to get all the goods incorporated.

Overall, I would give the oatmeal a big thumbs up. I am glad to find a delicious and nutritious breakfast option for on the road as there are not Starbucks at every corner when I road trip it up north to see the family (love their oatmeal!). I like my oatmeal from home just as much, and this one could definitely be recreated, but this is an awesome, ‘scrumptious’ option for on-the-go.

Has any one else tried this oatmeal? What other on-the-go breakfasts do you like?

3 Responses to “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh girl, kudos to you for getting up and out that early! Wow.

  2. Sarah January 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    i’m so tempted to try this oatmeal! but even though it’s easy and inexpensive, i’m waiting until i have a day when i CAN’T make it at home or am running late or whatever.

    i’m glad you liked it though! another review i read about it said the apples had a strange taste. you didn’t think that?

    • BalancingB January 31, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      I thought it was really good! I thought the apples tasted fine, but I also gave this thing a big stir so the apples, oats and brown sugar were all mixed in. I would totally recommend this breakfast, especially for an on-the-go option! Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

