Hump Day Activities

5 May

Alright, take it easy. Get your mind out of the gutter. You guys are terrible. 😉

I started off the day with a trip to the gym and then headed to the daily 9-5 J-O-B.

After work is when the fun really began. Last night I had plans with the Khouri ladies to have a girl’s night. But this was an extra-special one because we had plans to see a movie I have been dying to see. We met up for some sushi first at Sushi Zen. It is the smallest restaurant, but good things come in small packages. Yum. Hit the spot. Phil is not into sushi, so it always feels like a girl’s night meal for me.

Despite the wonderful food and conversation, my focus was on the second plan for the night. We went to see Water for Elephants!

I picked up this book about three weeks ago and could not put it down. Although I still have 60 pgs left, I was willing to ruin the ending to see Reese and Robert in the film. Wow – it was worth it!

The movie takes you to  the 1930s with a traveling circus that Jacob (Robert) joins after his life is turned upside down. We are transported to the magical spectacle that can awe a crowd at night and is gone just as quickly in the morning heading to its next destination.

Jacob soon lands a job as the circus vet pairing him with the circus’ star Marlena (Reese). They begin spending time together training and caring for the animals and their relationship and bond grows stronger.

The movie moves a little slow at some points, but overall it is a magical two hours. The era, the shows, Reese’s sequined costumes, Robert (duh) and the beautiful Rosie the elephant area all enchanting. I highly recommend checking out the film and picking up the book.

I had a wonderful night out with the ladies. It is always so nice to reconnect with some girl chat, food and laughs.

Cheers-

BB

2 Responses to “Hump Day Activities”

  1. Kelly May 6, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Thank you for saying it! Everytime someone says “happy hump day!”, my mind goes straight to the gutter. My husband stole a sign in college once that said “speed hump” for all the same reasons. Clearly, we were meant for each other. 😉 I loved Water for Elephants (the book) and can’t wait to see the movie!

    • BalancingB May 6, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

      Hehe, clearly we are all so mature 🙂 The book was wonderful, better than the movie (per usual), but it was done really well. I loved all of the outfits and the love story between Reese and Robert is amazing. Let me know if you go see it!

Leave a Reply

