Surprising Myself

8 Jun

Last weekend PG and I moved into our first new home. It was a big task that took a few days and help from lots of friends and family. But the main work was not in the move, but now taking care of the house. People always tell you how much work a house takes – they weren’t kidding. The most surprising part is that we purchased a home that was move-in-ready with only a handful of changes/updates to make based on our personal preferences.

However, now that we are in the house, there are a lot of to-dos. For us, mainly outside. The owners before us completely neglected the yard, which is not a huge deal. The problem is that the original owner (who they purchased the home from), was a BIG time gardener. He had a beautifully manicured lawn with plants, flowers and veggies landscaped around the house and in a big display out back. It is sad to see how overgrown and destroyed his work has become.

Every night I have spent anywhere from 1 -3 hours outside working slowly but surely around the house.

Old pic from last year...still need to find my camera cord! Ugh.

The big surprise?? I have not had TV since Friday and I do not miss it!! I know, its wild. I come home, change and head back outside to tackle the garden. With the weather so beautiful, it is really hard to stay away. I even find myself thinking about it at work. Who would have ever guessed that I would pick gardening over The Real Housewives?!? Not me.

The cable guy is coming on Friday to hook us up, and honestly, I am not looking forward to it. One of two things will happen; one, I will not watch tv and waste the money. Or two, I will watch more TV then I need to and neglect other areas of my life. Hummm…I guess the DVR will be put to work so I can continue to enjoy my time outside with Henry and my garden and save the ‘quality’ shows for pre-bed viewing.

Do you ever feel like you miss out because of TV?

2 Responses to “Surprising Myself”

  1. cleaneatingchelsey June 8, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    I don’t really watch alot of TV – if anything, I miss out because of blogging! 🙂

    • BalancingB June 9, 2011 at 6:23 am #

      That is a void reason to skip the TV. I am finding I enjoy so many other activities over TV, blogging and my Google Reader are some of my favs 🙂

Leave a Reply

