Five Reasons

15 Jun

First off, let’s get something straight; I am not necessarily a morning person. But, there is something to be said for getting your workout in first thing in the am. Lately, I’ve been bouncing back and forth between before-work and after-work workouts. And, it’s a tough call.

Things that make 5:30 AM a reality:
1. Knowing at 6:10 PM I will still be at work kicking myself for not already having my workout done.
2. Sleeping in can have the reverse effect and actually make me upset for not getting off my hynie
3. I am much happier and mentally focused at work.
4. Knowing that when I hit the snooze on my alarm people are already on treadmills.
5. Keeps a consistency in my routine.

Things that make 6:30 PM a contender:

1. Sometimes you just need some sleep.
2. I’m not going to lie, I have a slight fear of being kidnapped while out on my run. No joke.
3. More time = longer runs
4. The temps seem to be more in my favor, especially this time of year.
5. I guess I don’t have a fifth…shoot. That throws this all off. 🙂

I don’t mind flip-flopping, sometimes am works, sometimes pm. The issue is that I find myself skipping more times than not. First I tell myself to skip in the am, and then something comes up at night and I miss the workout all together. So, I guess the winner is am by default?

I’m looking to start in on my 1/2 marathon and 10 Mile training this weekend – hope to have a GP (game plan) prior.

Which do you prefer; am or pm workouts?

Leave a Reply

