Welcome to the Windy City!

12 Jul

Wow, what happened to my life?! How is it already Tuesday? Between the short week thanks to the Fourth of July, I have been completely thrown off with my days.

When I returned to work on Wednesday of last week, I went on a secret mission that evening (deets to come soon!) and then Thursday night I was packing away for a weekend road trip.

On Friday night after work, I jumped in my car and headed west where I met up with my mom. We left my car at a park and ride, grabbed some dinner and hit the road: we were Chi-town bound!

As you have seen here and read, my sister is expecting her first bambino (yay!). We are officially on two-month count down and I am getting super excited! Lindsay and her husband just finished Baby S’s room, so I wanted to see the new digs. I have to say, they did such a great job!! I am in love with the yellow and elephant theme. They are waiting to find out the baby’s gender, so everything is nice and neutral (for now…wait until Aunt Brynn goes shopping!).

We arrived fairly late on Friday thanks to some construction. On Saturday, I woke up to my mom and Lindsay talking out on the deck. I had originally planned to go on my long run on Sat am (per my training schedule), but some times you need to talk, drink coffee and laugh with your favorite people. So I did. We talked for hours in our pjs taking in the sun and great company.

The afternoon was spent shopping, eating and more eating (what, we had a pregnant lady). 🙂

However, preggs was ready to rest her feet so we grabbed some of the best pizza in the world from Piece, and headed back to her house.

And then, the magic happened. Phil (Linds’ husband) asked me if I wanted a John Daley. Have you ever had one of these? OMG. If not, go now. Seriously, I’ll wait.

No, I’m kidding. They are amazing; a mix of lemonade and sweet tea vodka.

Empty...oops!

Umm, yes please. Lets just say, we had a fun night.

I went to bed with my alarm set for 6:30am – long run here I come! I got up and out the door, and completed 7 miles which included a minor detour (I am directionally challenged). But, I had to get home quick because we had visitors! All of my aunts and grandma from my dad’s side of the family were coming to visit! They live all over the us (Seattle to CA to MI) and had not visited Lindsay’s new home.

The gang arrived around 10am and Lindsay served an awesome brunch.

Berry Bread Pudding

Dilloway's Famous Egg Dish

Cheers Aunt Mary Anne!

Once our bellies were full, we got in cabs and headed down to the water.

We spent the afternoon taking in the city on an architecture Tour. In all of my visits to Chicago, I have never done one of these tours and was super excited. Our guide was very informative – I felt like I was back in school, I learned so much. 🙂

Voted the most beautiful building in Chicago.

Afterwards, we  head down to Navy Pier to walk around and enjoy the day. I really love it down here, it reminds me of an old circus, very Water for Elephants.

Soon after, we headed back home so my mom and I could hit the road. The weekend went by so quickly. But it was great to see the baby bump, Baby S’s new room and all of the Dilloway ladies.

It was sad to go, but I am throwing Lindsay’s baby shower in two weeks so I get to see her and the bump again. Yay!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “Welcome to the Windy City!”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 12, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I’ll be in Chicago tomorrow. Going to be there until the 22nd for work. But, looking forward to taking in the sites. Definitely planning on one of the boat tours and I need to check out that pizza joint!

    • BalancingB July 12, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Fun! The pizza at Piece is a MUST! So good, we got tomato, basil and roasted red pepper. Yum! Have a great time in Chicago. That is nice you are there for a decent amount of time and can explore all of the sites! Have you ever been?

Leave a Reply

