Good Girls Go To Paris

5 Aug

I have a wish list that I started about a year ago that tracks all of the places I want to eat at in the Detroit area. Believe it or not, there are some outstanding restaurants, and with the large area (from west side to downtown Detroit to the east side), there are plenty of spots to keep any foodie happy.

One of the locations on my list is Good Girls Go To Paris, which is owned and operated by Torya Blanchard.

Following her passion, she left her job as a French teacher, cashed in her 401k and poured her heart and soul into the business. What does she make? Crepes! Yup, that’s it. But don’t fret, she makes over 50 different kinds from sweet to savory. It is hard to leave here without a full and happy belly.

Now, after her third move, the crepery sits in a 2,000 sq. ft. building in downtown Detroit. Phil and I decided to start our Sunday with a ride on his motor cycle down to Good Girls.

The atmosphere is fantastic with the walls covered in paintings and old movie posters from the late ’30s and ’40s.

We each selected a savory (being that it was pushing noon, we were starving).

I selected the Alison: Hummus, spinach, broccoli, herb de provence, hot sauce. It was so good – a nice big veggie wrap with a kick. What I liked most was the airiness of the crepe, unlike some wraps.

Phil went with the Celeste: Roast beef, brie, cranberries.

Once we put a dent in those (and couldn’t wait any longer), our ‘dessert’ arrived. Now, let me say, it is REALLY difficult to pick a sweet crepe when you have options from chocolate and banana, oreo, caramel, etc. But, we decided to stick with some simple and good ingredients.

Behold, the Liz: Strawberries, blueberries, Nutella with a side of fresh whipped cream.

OMG. This was sooo good. I highly recommend grabbing a sweet crepe as a nice end to a dinner or as a start to your day.

It was so much fun hitting this place up and trying a few different crepes. I give GG two thumbs up!!

Do you like to explore and find new places to eat?

I tend to stick to my tried and trues, but I do like to step outside of my box every now and again.

XO-

BB

7 Responses to “Good Girls Go To Paris”

  1. Karolina @ CounselorMusings August 5, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Wow- these both look fantastic, and if I ever go to Detroit, I’ll definitely keep this place in mind. The first place I had a crepe was in France, and I haven’t found a place as good as that here in the states.

    • BalancingB August 5, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      They are really good! I’m going to Paris in two months, can’t wait to try an authentic crepe!

  2. kate August 5, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    omg crepes are my favorite thing ever although im a sucker for a sweet crepe!

    • BalancingB August 5, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      Believe it or not, these were my first crepes! I’m addicted to the sweet ones…ready to go back 😉

  3. kristinerunningonhungry August 5, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    Just found your blog and I LOVE it!! Can’t wait to read more! I’m training for my first marathon and I loved your fueling post… so helpful! 🙂

    • BalancingB August 6, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      Thanks Kristine! So glad you found the blog and like it. I just found you today, too. Have to love #FF! 🙂 I would love to do a half marathon, that is my next goal after my 10 miler in three weeks. Will this be your first?

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    What a fun, cool looking place. I’ve really only had crepes once. I love to find new places!

Leave a Reply

