The Best Part of Waking Up

12 Aug

Last night I crashed. Hard.

I stood in the kitchen, dressed head-to-toe in my running clothes, looked at Phil and said, “I don’t think I can do this.” The exhaustion was hitting hard and despite my desire to run, I was tapped out.

Instead, I leashed up Henry and we cruised the neighborhood for a bit before returning home for some scrambled eggs and Guiliana and Bill followed by an early bed time.

This morning I awoke feeling better and was ready to log some miles.

Not sure about my fellow runners, but I am slightly chicken to run in the dark. When I wake up at 5:30 am, it is pretty dark out. Sure, when I finish, it’s perfection and the weather is cooperating with low 60 temps. But I just can’t do it. So, I met up with my friend – the treadmill.

Phil has today off (thanks to his new 4:10 schedule) so we made plans for him to drop me off at work today. No, it’s not that we can’t get enough of each other. It’s because last night Phil told me that today would be date night. He had to ruin the surprise and tell me a day early because he got us these:

KID ROCK tonight!!

The concert is downtown, so Phil will meet me after the work day for dinner and the concert.

Lucky me I got to start my day with my boys. Bonus!

Car-pool buddies.

Phil gets weirded out when I take pictures of him. So, he pretends ‘m not 🙂

Hope you have a great Friday!

Any plans for tonight or this weekend that you are looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

