Taking a Break During the Work Day

13 Sep

Goodness, welcome back to the blog, Brynn!

Not to make excuses, but my mind has been somewhere else this week and I am not feelin like spreading that all over the blog, so you will just have to accept my apology.

Back to the topic at hand. Being crazy.

I’m not sure about you, but my workdays are crazy. There are many, many days that lunch is caught on the fly or eaten while working. Not ideal, but at least I get to eat! 🙂

This week my friend (who conveniently works in the same building as me) made a lunch date. The Detroit Farmer’s Market has moved from just Saturdays to a smaller market on Tuesdays. Very cool. From 11am-7pm, the DFM is open with a smaller offering then Saturday, which hosts three sheds full of produce, goods and eats. On Tuesday’s it is held down to one shed.

Katie and I headed out at noon to check out the market. Within minutes we had arrived and began scoping-out the goods.

I scored a pepper, corn, tomatoes, kale, zucchini and my monster head of broccoli ($1, no holla!!).

All of this for under $5.

It was a great change to leave work during the day, get out for some fresh air, spend time with a friend and grab some fresh produce at the DFM. I love the option to hit it up on Tuesdays. I always have the best intentions on Saturday, but between long runs, plans and to-dos, it never seems to work out. I’m hoping to make this a somewhat regular occurence.

One Response to “Taking a Break During the Work Day”

  1. Nicole2112 September 13, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Gorgeous veggies – and all for under $5? That’s a steal!
    Glad you got up and around during the day. It does wonders for productivity.

Leave a Reply

