House Projects: Masterbedroom Closets

14 Sep

The master bedroom closet…ahhh. Where do I begin?

This project started innocent enough. When we moved in, our closet had the backwards hanging rod. I loathe these. Truly, one of my pet-peeves. So, I asked Phil if we could rip out the one bar and replace it with a few double-rungs and shelves. No big deal, right?

Well, that project started when we moved in….almost four months ago. We started out strong, we took out the rods, patched, painted and primed.

Then we got distracted by the beautiful weather and started working like maniacs outside on the lawn. So, for three months we’ve been using the extra bedroom closets which makes for quite the ping-pong action in the mornings. It was time to revisit the closets!

In my eyes, this project happens in two phases. One, put up new poles and shelves. Two, knock out some walls and make the closet a walk-in.

Unfortunately, all of the phases and wants and wishes started to mush together and next thing you know, we have a closet guy over showing us a 3-D design of our closet!! Oy. I was excited for a hot second, and then reality hit – we are leaving for Europe in two weeks and my sister is expecting her first child, so we will be on the go and MIA. Not the most ideal time to be knocking out walls.

During one of my trips to Home Depot, (apparently my new favorite place), I found the closet section. After an hour looking at my options, I picked out my items and was ready to get started. It was truly that simple. I am not sure how we got so far off track, all I wanted was a closet with two rods and a place for my shoes. :/

We made an early morning run to HD Saturday morning and started working away. After a few different twists and turns of the sections (that corner is a total waste of space. Really, who designed this?!), we now have rods and shelves!! Whoo hoo!

And just in time, because my sister is being induced and is going to have a baby today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  So, sorry for the not so great pictures and only of Phil’s side, but I am running out the door! I’m off to Chicago to become a first-time auntie and meet this little bundle of joy.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful hump day!

XO-

Future Auntie, BB

2 Responses to “House Projects: Masterbedroom Closets”

  1. Nicole2112 September 14, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    A baby is waaaay more exciting than a closet – even a very nice re-done closet like this one. 🙂
    Have a safe trip “Future Auntie BB”!

    • BalancingB September 14, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Ha, so true!!! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

