Natalie Makes Her Debut

17 Sep

For weeks I have been on edge. In fact, I have been a bit MIA on the blog, my mind has been somewhere else.

My sister had a few ‘false alarms’ with her pregnancy and we were all anxiously awaiting the arrival of Baby S.

Despite her due date being September 9, baby was not having it. So, we waited. And waited. (Not so patiently. But can you blame us?!) My poor sister hung in there until her scheduled appointment on Tuesday night (September 13) to be induced.

I knew I wanted to be there within the first 24 hours to hold new Baby S (this is my first niece/nephew), so I slept with the phone next to my bed and tossed and turned all night. No call. I worked from home on Wednesday so I could easily hit the road ASAP…but no call. Finally, at 11:15am EST I called my mom (my parents drove to Chicago Tuesday night) to ask what was going on. Still no word. Ugh, my stomach was in knots.

Then finally, at 12:15pm the new dad (my brother-in-law) called with the good news; Natalie McGovern had arrived!!! She was doing well (along with mom).  I started crying and congratulated him over and over again.

I called Phil and told him to get home from work, it was time to hit the road!! Within two hours I had hit the mall and picked up some girl goodies, packed and got on the road. We made it to Chicago in record time and went straight to the hospital.

I was able to hold my niece within the first few hours of her life. It was one of the most amazing moments.

We visited for an hour and then let the new parents and little one get some rest.

The next morning my brother and his girlfriend arrived to see Ms. Natalie. We all headed to the hospital. It was a bit crazy and crowded, but Lindsay was glowing and let us soak in her baby.

Honestly, seeing my sister with her new little girl was a very emotional experience. Lindsay is my sister, yes, but she is also my best friend. It was very special to see her look with such pride and love at Natalie. She sat in her bed (clearly in pain!) and watched her family go nuts over Natalie. My happiness for her and her family makes my heart burst. It was such a happy and joyous 24 hours.

Unfortunately, we had to head home that night. Silly work 🙂

My life has changed. My family has changed. My sister has changed. All for the better. All thanks to an amazing little girl who has made the world a little better just by being here. I am completely in love Natalie. I cannot imagine what it must feel like to be a parent.

But for now, I will enjoy being a first-time aunt. I foresee a lot of wonderful times ahead.

Congrats again to the new family! Love you all!

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “Natalie Makes Her Debut”

  1. Nicole2112 September 19, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Argh! You made me cry. 🙂 She is truly beautiful and you all look so incredibly happy to welcome her to the world! I love it.

    Congratulations to you and your sister both for the new addition. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Look Back at 2011 « BalancingB - January 6, 2012

    […] threw my sister a baby shower and we welcomed Ms. Natalie into our lives…I will never be the same. ::proud […]

Leave a Reply

