I’m Back!

27 Oct

Wow, that was more of a break then I had planned.

As you know, I finally went on my dream vacation to Europe with my husband for two weeks. We traveled throughout Italy and ended in Paris. It was a trip of a lifetime that I cannot wait to share with you!

When Phil and I were in Paris, the last leg of our trip, we received a call from my mom on Wednesday saying my grandma had passed away. We tried to get on an earlier flight to come home, but it didn’t work. Fortunately, we were leaving Friday morning and after a terrible experience and almost missing our flight, we made it home Friday evening. Although it was 6pm in the good old US of A, it was midnight in Europe (and in our minds), so we pushed through to unpack, do laundry and crashed before we even ate dinner. The next day we packed and were on the road by 9am to grab Henry from Grandma K and head to Traverse City.

The next few days were terribly difficult and I am grateful for my wonderful husband and family.

On Monday, we were at the church for my grandma’s funeral when we got the news that my aunt had a stroke (30 min before the funeral, weird, I know). With heavy hearts and lots of tears, we pushed on to say good-bye to my grandma and await news on Aunt Louise.

My uncle called to say she had actually sustained multiple brain aneurysms and she was being airlifted to Grand Rapids for emergency surgery it did not look good. All of the brothers and sisters caravaned down to GR and us kids stayed behind.

After several tests and surgeries, my Aunt lost her life on Tuesday morning. To say we were in shock would be an understatement. It was the most tragic experience.

We all stayed up in Traverse City – I could not have needed my family more. We did our best to get out of the house, but most days were met with little motivation. During the week we cleaned my grandma’s house (also extremely difficult) and then faced another funeral when the weekend came.

I came home on Monday night and spent Tuesday sleeping, catching up on my life (aka laundry, emails, etc) and just spent time in my house. I needed a me day.

Finally, on Wednesday, I returned to work and some ‘normalcy’. I hate that word, but there is no other way to explain what I am seeking.

I certainly don’t want to be Debbie Downer, and most of you reading have an idea of what has been happening. But, I felt like after such a long break, I needed to be honest and say what has been happening in my life as my blog is for me to share my thoughts and feelings. I also want to thank everyone for the love, prayers and support. Our family was flooded with cards, flowers, food and support from so many people, it was truly overwhelming and meant so much.

I will miss my grandma and aunt dearly, they were both taken too soon. Tell the ones you love what they mean to you, life goes too quickly not to.

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “I’m Back!”

  1. Caroline October 30, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Oh wow- my heart hurts for you. I’m so sorry for your loss:( Death is hard, and especially when it was completely unexpected, it’s very difficult. I just went to my grandma’s funeral on Friday, so I’m still recovering from that as well. I can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

    • BalancingB October 31, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      That is so sweet, thank you. And I am sorry to hear about your loss, too. It is such a difficult time. But, I will have posts from Europe this week! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

