Back in the Swing of Things

31 Oct

As much as we all look forward to the weekend, I was more than ready for Friday to come. After a tough two weeks, I was ready for some ‘normalcy’ in my life.

However, the week had sufficiently kicked my butt (6am wake up calls, what? We did not have these in Italy!). So, Friday was spent with take out and the hubs on the couch before I crashed earlier than I care to admit. But, it felt good to be home.

No worries about not partying like a rock star of Friday because I had big plans for Saturday. A few months ago I was invited to a girl’s day at Notre Dame. Although I have not spent a day at home in 23 days, I was not about to miss out on the fun. In fact, I was looking forward to some girl time.

The ‘bus’ rolled up at 8:30am, I kissed the boys good-bye, threw my drinks in the trunk and we were off. The three hours flew by; being gone for so long left a lot to catch up on! We arrived on campus and decided to take a tour thanks to our wonderful tour guide, Kate. Her family is a ND family; grandpa is on boards, whole fam went there…it’s kind of crazy to see their name on the side of a building. In short, she is kind of a big deal and I got to roll in her awesomeness. 🙂

Touchdown Jesus

Just as we were approaching the Grotto, we felt a few drops. No big deal, the forecast showed sunshine. But then, the clouds opened up and it started raining, hailing, snowing and everything in between. We bolted for the trees where we spent the next 30 min watching the ground turn white. No snow! Boo.

The sun finally showed itself and we headed to Starbucks for some much needed warm drinks and then back to start the tailgate.

We headed into the game and realized once again why Kate is the bomb- 50 yrd line, 7th row Gold seats. Dang. They were amazing.

Rach, Katie, me and Kate

ND beat up on the Navy pretty bad so we headed out before the end of the game. The car ride home was even more fun – enter XM radio, the 90s channel! There was a lot of singing going on. It was such a fun day.

On Sunday I slept in and man, did it feel good. After whipping up some pancakes I headed off to the gym for some cardio and yoga with my favorite gym girl. I know that I have lost a lot of my strength and endurance over my four weeks off, but wow, those moves were killer. It was almost sad how much I lost.

I hit up TJ and PetSmart before heading home. Phil and I spent the rest of the afternoon getting our new iPhones (yay!) and hitting up the cider mill. (I simply cannot let Halloween pass without a pumpkin on my front porch and cider.)

We arrived home in time to cook a great meal and watch the Lions win! A great weekend for sports (ok, we won’t talk about the Spartans).

But what I really want to discuss is the new show I am into – Once Upon a Time. Have you seen this show? Phil and I sat and watched the pilot and new episode back to back. This is unheard of with my husband, he can barely make it through a DVR show which is way shorter. I liked the premise and the characters were fantastic, I can’t wait for next week.

I am also excited because we are celebrating our first Halloween in our house and should have lots of Trick or Treaters! We’re also having friends over so I can’t wait. Who would have thought I would be so excited for a Monday?! 🙂 Hope you all have a wonderful and safe Halloween.

What are some of your favorite shows?

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

