Birthday Weekend

21 Nov

Although today is my actual birthday, I have spent the past few days celebrating!

It all started with the perfect timing of Twilight: New Moon opening at midnight on Thursday. Some of my friends are just as crazy as me so we made a night of it with some sushi dinner and then the show.

I passed out on the couch around 3:30am so my day started a little late on Friday. I took the day off to run a few errands and get ready for all of the visitors!

Friday night was my first holiday party at my new work. Phil and I got all dressed up and had a great time drinking, enjoying some BA food (hello carving stations, gelato bar and sushi platters) and walking away with some prizes from Crate and Barrel. Winning!

When we arrive home, our first round of visitors had arrived; my brother and girlfriend. We chatted for a bit before crashing. On Saturday my sister and her new little girl, Natalie arrived and we spent the day chatting, hanging out and watching football. My parents arrived in the late afternoon taking the total to six visitors, one baby and four dogs. It was fantastic – I loved having my house full of family, it made my heart smile.

Phil had been planning with my family for a while on my birthday party. I was kept completely in the dark, all I knew was that we were having a little shin-dig on Sat night. Phil spent most of the day working in the kitchen or running errands. Finally at 6pm our friends came over, PF Changs was delivered along with sushi and a cake from Coldstone! AWE-SOME!

It was the BEST time. I could not have been happier than to have my house filled with friends and family.

We spent Sunday enjoying a big breakfast and walking through downtown before all of my visitors had to say good-bye.

I was sad to see them go so Phil and I ducked out of the house to sit at Starbucks and enjoy their BOGO while talking about the weekend.

It’s funny, just a year or two ago I would have planned a night out on the town, but this year all I wanted was to share my home with the people I love. It meant the world to me, my heart was full and I felt so happy.

Even though tonight is my actual birthday dinner, I already got everything I wanted. What a great way to start off another year.

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “Birthday Weekend”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) November 21, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Happy Birthday (it’s mine today too)!! Glad you had a great weekend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Look Back at 2011 « BalancingB - January 6, 2012

    […] celebrated another year here on the earth with a shin-dig at our new place. Our home was filled with friends and family – the best […]

Leave a Reply

