What Are You Made Of?

1 Dec

At the beginning of the month, I was coming off of a four-week break from the gym and any working out. My life had been all over the place and I was ready to get back into a routine. However, my body was not in the same condition as when we had last met.

I made a goal for myself – every week in November, add on one more day of working out. So, for the first week, I worked out three days. And let me tell you, it sucked. I liked my four weeks off, no sweaty mess, no extra laundry, more time on my hands. Those workouts were hard, but, I did it.

Week two came and I committed to four days. And all four days that week I went to the gym.

The following week marked week three…you see where I am going here. I added in running again and it was a sad sight. But, every day I did it and soon my body started to remember what it was we were doing.

Last week I hit my goal of working out six days. I cannot believe I did it – espeically considering I had a birthday, Thanksgiving, travel and some fun evenings wrapped in there. But, I did it.

When I first started the challenge, I wasn’t sure I would ever feel like I wanted to workout on a regular basis again. But the energy you get from a run, the rush from hitting your goal, feeling awake and ready to take on the day after a morning workout is indescribabale.

Maybe it is my competitive side, but this challenge really pushed me to go a little further, try a little harder and see what I am really made of.

What are your plans to stay healthy, active and happy in December?

One Response to “What Are You Made Of?”

  1. christina December 2, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    congrats on hitting your goal! always makes you feel so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

