A Look Back at 2011

6 Jan

Wow, what a year it has been already! Work has been keeping me more than busy…there was certainly no ‘easing’ back into the grind. I have a funny feeling January will be gone before I know it as I am gearing up for a seven-day work trip to Las Vegas shortly. Wowza.

But, before I get ahead of myself with this year, I need to take a look back at 2011, because honestly, it deserves it. 2011 was one of the best years in my book; there were some great moments, highlights, milestones and firsts. So, here we go:

  • I kicked off the year with a new job back at my old stomping grounds. I was sad to say good-bye to my friends and alma mater (Go Green!), but was ready to get back to the career I have been after.
  • I traveled to California as the assistant coach of the Michigan State Synchronized Skating Team for Nationals…silver medalists, recognize!
  • Running for beer. March marked my first race in five years. I ran the St. Patty’s day run with some friends and the running bug got me.
  • Phil and I started looking for our first home. Sure, this isn’t a big to-do, but taking that step was huge and an awesome moment in my life and relationship.
  • May marked my first 10k! I also ran the Crim in the fall.
  • We purchased and moved into our first home. I am smitten. It is perfect.
  • Weekend in Leland with friends.
  • I threw my sister a baby shower and we welcomed Ms. Natalie into our lives…I will never be the same. ::proud auntie::
  • My amazing husband surprised me with my dream ride; BMW 328i. It’s dreamy.
  • Halloween was spook-tacular!
  • We made a two week trek from Rome to Florence, Venice and Paris. There are no words for this trip or spending two romantic weeks with my best friend.
  • I celebrated another year here on the earth with a shin-dig at our new place. Our home was filled with friends and family – the best gift.
  • Lots of holiday fun with all the families and friends. It was also Natalie’s first Christmas, which puts a special ora on the holiday.
  • We saw Wicked!!

2011 was filled with accomplishments, growing up and seeing just how amazing this life can be. I knocked quite a few items off of my life bucket list, which is quite exciting!

I already have several things planned for 2012 and have a funny feeling it is going to be another amazing year. Looking forward to what’s to come!

Leave a Reply

