Weekend Recap

17 Jan

Happy Monday Tuesday!

Thanks to Dr. King Jr we had three-day weekend. And after the crazy chaos that was Vegas last week, I was more than ready for a little R&R.

My body was still on PT on Friday, so I was not getting any quality sleep. But Saturday was a WHOLE other story, this girl slept until almost eleven. I don’t think I’ve done that since college, and it felt so good! I needed that. We spent the rest of the day doing a very deep clean thanks to the recent construction in our house, there was an extra layer of dust. Most of the day was spent cleaning every inch of the house, doing more work on the kitchen and packing away the Christmas decorations.

It was a nice relaxing day. I also whipped up a large pot of Veggie Turkey Soup (recipe to come soon) that we enjoyed for dinner before running out to see The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo. The movie was INTENSE. I read the book, but it was difficult to watch some parts. Phil on the other hand, loved the movie; it was full of suspense and mystery.

Sunday turned into another late sleeping day. Hello 10:30am. I seem to be getting good at this sleeping in thing. And then I looked outside-

Hello snow. Ugh. I left beautiful 65 degree Vegas for this? Oh well, I guess this is what happens when you live in the Mitten. Despite all of my new winter running gear, I got freaked out to run on the snow and headed to the gym for some quality mileage on the dreadmill.

I returned home to find some visitors! Phil’s cousin and his two kids came over to see our new house. They stayed for a few hours visiting and playing with our pup, Henry. After they took off, we had to get ready for our double date. We had plans to hit up the amazing Sagebrush Cantina with our closest friends Katie and Chad.

Sagebrush has some of the best Mexican eats around. They also make a mean margarita with fresh lime juice – ole! And Phil took on the monster burrito..

And we all tackled the deep-fried ice cream.

We had an awesome time laughing and catching up – it had been too long.

Our bonus day was filled with egg white omelets, errands, Home Depot, coffee, grocery shopping and a tempo run outside. I somehow ended the weekend with a completely empty to-do list…it’s now my “ta-da” list! 😉

This weekend was awesome in so many ways. I felt more relaxed over the past three days than I ever did during Christmas break (and that was two weeks!). It’s amazing what some quality sleep, reasonable expectations and to-dos will get you. Sure, there is more to work on in the kitchen and laundry room, but we’ll finish that next weekend. Until then, it’s time to tackle another week of work.

Hope you are having a great start to the week!

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

