Bourbin Street, Emeril’s and Canal Street

10 May

On Tuesdasy night I arrived in NOLA around 5pm and was exhausted post travel. But, the coworkers invited me to meet them near the French Quarter for some dinner, so I pulled myself together and headed out. And I have to say, it was the best decision.

It was so fun to see the city (first timer) and I had a wonderful dinner at GW Fins. I enjoyed some amazing Malbec with my dinner of maple-glazed pork (11 oz!) on top of mashed bourbon sweet potatoes with balsamic strawberries. Oh. My. Gosh. This dish was out of this world good. Like, crazy, crazy good.

Luckily, we were all tired and called it an early night. After a late night on Monday, I needed a good night sleep last night.

Wednesday was spent at the event. Post event, we traveled over to the Rosevelt for some swanky apps and drinks (no pics as this was still a work meeting).

For dinner, I went with a friend to Emeril’s. They had heard some great reviews (specifically on the banana cream pie that they ordered to wrap the meal). The restaurant definately lived up to it’s reputation; the food was delicious from the corn bread to Emeril salad to the mango topped shrimp – the flavors were so impecible.

20120510-084428.jpg

20120510-084436.jpg

20120510-084445.jpg

20120510-084455.jpg

20120510-084510.jpg

20120510-084516.jpg

20120510-084522.jpg

Before my flight on Thursday, I decided to take a stoll with some coffee to see a few more minutes of the city. I have to say, I was really impressed, there is a good mix of old-world and new-world and can change with just the turn of a corner.

Typically, you don’t have a ton of opportunity to see a city while traveling for work, but I am so glad I was able to have a few experiences in crazy, beautiful New Orleans.

XO-

BB

One Response to “Bourbin Street, Emeril’s and Canal Street”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Six States, Seven Days « BalancingB - May 15, 2012

    […] week, I traveled to Boston and New Orleans and this week, I am in […]

Leave a Reply

