A Perfect Weekend

4 Jun

What an amazing weekend! It has been a perfect blend of relaxation and productivity, which is a winning combo in my book.

Saturday

The weekend started a little ‘off’. My plan was to enjoy a nice, relaxing Saturday, however there were a few obstacles in the way.

I started the day sleeping in, oh the little things. 🙂 Despite not having a long run on the books, I still headed to the gym for a good sweat-sesh. Not having a training plan to adhere to has left me giddy. I was ready to take on the absolute hardest yoga class around.

I made it to the gym in time for some cardio and the headed into the sauna box (aka the yoga studio). Over the next thirty minutes of sweating and thinking I was going to die, I pushed through and convinced myself not to call it quits. Just as we were rounding the lasting the of class, the teacher came over by me and moved my stuff sending my iPhone flying and breaking my beautiful Kate case. Tear.

It was an accident, but I was pretty upset. Luckily, the manager said he was happy to replace it for me.

And then it was time to tackle my neglected mane of hair. But once again, a bump in the road. When I went to check in, the receptionist said my appointment was scheduled for next weekend. What?! I know I asked for this Saturday, so she talked to my stylist and he said he would squeeze me in between appointments. Dear lord.

Luckily everything went well and I tried my best to relax and let these glitches go. Two hours later I walked out feeling like a new girl. 🙂

The afternoon was filled with lots of errands, some house cleaning and planting flowers out front of the house.

In other exciting news, Phil sealed our kitchen island. It looks so beautiful and totally made my day as it was a huge priority on my to-do list…check!

After unloading my car and putting away groceries, we headed out to dinner in Royal Oak before my girlfriend’s birthday party. She had a huge house party, which was fun, I felt like I was back in college. Ha!

It was a late night, but a great one!

Sunday

While I originally wanted to get in a workout, I have been letting myself ramp back up when it feels right. And today all I wanted was to sleep in, feel the sun coming through the window and enjoy the peace of the morning. These are the moments that take the stress of life far, far away. I needed it, bad.

I ran down the street for my favorite coffee and the Sunday paper that were enjoyed on our front porch. After catching up on the news and fueling up with some eggs, we headed out for the Tigers game. We had tickets to game three vs. the Yankees.

We arrived early to see the retirement ceremony of Magglio Ordonez. Maggs was a favorite in Detroit, it was sad to see him go, so I was glad to be able to attend.

20120603-194050.jpg

It was the perfect day for a game.

20120603-194059.jpg

20120603-194107.jpg

Verlander started the game, but was having an off day. We were pretty disappointed by his pitching today as he is one of the best in the league.

Now, I am not a Yankees fan, but I was pretty stoked to see Jeeter and A-Rod. 

During our rounds of the stadium, we came across a beautiful sighting-

We had a blast at the game and continued on to the rooftop to enjoy a bit more of the day. Around 5pm we headed home for dinner, the DVR and a walk with Mr. Henry.

What an awesome weekend! I’m so glad we were able to stay home and relax sans training schedules, obligations, or alarm clocks. I have not seen relaxation like this in far too long, but boy did it feel good!

Hope you all had a great weekend too! What was the best part of your weekend?

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

