The Sweet Life

17 Jun

Good morning and happy Monday!

I am coming off of a great weekend and am hoping all of the fun I had will power me through this week since it’s going to be long and crazy.

Friday started fairly quiet – Phil was out-of-town and I was on puppy duty. I headed home after work to let the guy out and we went on a walk around the neighborhood followed by some dinner and a trip to Trader Joes. It was a calm and relaxing night, just what I needed.

I know I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – I L.O.V.E. waking up on a Saturday sans alarm clock. Thanks to a decently early night, I rolled out of bed nice, easy and rested Saturday morning at 8am. Phil and I had a cup of coffee and chatted before he took off to help our friends move into their new house.

I had other plans….

Katie T. came over around 9am and we chatted on the couch for about an hour. I have to say, this is one of my favorite things in the world. Having a chat over coffee curled up just seems right. We decided to get a move-on before the day got too warm and headed out to do some strawberry picking.

20120617-181622.jpg

20120617-181646.jpg

20120617-181725.jpg

I was a little concerned we might be too late in the season, but we both walked away with 6-7 lbs each of sweet and juicy strawberries. I think I also consumed a pound during picking. 🙂

20120617-181756.jpg

The strawberries were good and all, but we needed some legit eats, so we headed to my stand-by, Ironwood Grill. The rest of the afternoon was spent at the salon for a pedicure and then resting. Phil has his final exam today, so when he got home he sat down to hit the books for a few hours. It was a nice Saturday morning and afternoon.

For dinner, we had plans to meet-up with John, Cathy and Brayden (our godson) – some of our closest and best friends. We haven’t had a chance to see them in weeks, so I was really looking forward to hanging out.

We had the best time chatting and listening to all that Brayden had to say. He is growing up so fast – he told us his ABCs, how old he is, his name and much more concerning Barney. This is where he lost me. 🙂

After dinner, we picked up our friends and headed over to Brenden’s for a bon -fire. A perfect end to an easy summer Saturday.

20120617-181819.jpg

Yesterday was time to get back to the to-do list.

Unfortunately, we were unable to spend the day with our dads, but we called to wish them a happy day!!

Happy Father’s Day to the best dad around!!  

My family is coming into town on Thursday night, so we will be able to visit and celebrate this coming weekend. However, with visitors brings a few preparations and with our busy week, we had to get crackin’.

We had to dodge some serious raindrops, but were productive and knocked everything off our list.

20120617-181909.jpgOne pile post-errand run.

Phil wanted to study more, (since when did Phil become a nerd?), so I decided to get in a workout including some strength training and yoga.

20120617-182034.jpg

I have moved my old yoga mat to our bedroom since I am finding myself craving it more and more. I usually pop in a video a night or two a week outside of my yoga studio classes at the gym. Also, please excuse this odd picture, but I wanted you to see my cute pedi – Peach Margarita. 😉

The night wrapped with dinner outside (I know, shocking) and strawberry shortcake.

Hope you all had a good weekend! Did you do anything fun with your dad?

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “The Sweet Life”

  1. Elle Hattan (@ElleHattan) June 19, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    I love strawberry picking. My Mom & I went last week and made freezer jam which is so easy and so much better (health & taste wise) than store jam. That little one is so cute!!

    • BalancingB June 21, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      How do you make freezer jam?! Yum!

Leave a Reply

