Aside

Wedding Weekend – Back to my Hometown

28 Jul

Happy Saturday!
I hope everyone is having a great weekend. I’m writing from up north in my hometown. After work on Thursday, Phil, Henry and I packed up and made the drive. Our good friends are getting married today!

Thanks to some work obligations we got on the road a bit later than we hoped so we made a stop at Starbucks for fuel. The barista loved Henry and gave him a little treat.
20120727-160437.jpg

We finally rolled in around 11:30pm and despite the fact that I was whipped, I managed to stay up for a few more hours chatting 😉

Needless to say, I didn’t get enough sleep and scrapped my original run for yoga. It may have been the best decision I’ve ever made. It never fails to amaze me how good it feels to stretch, breathe and lengthen.

Since the weather was rainy and overcast, beach plans were scrapped. But the dogs maybe weren’t as fond of the change of plans.

Weeks ago the bride and groom to be planned some pre-wedding day fun for all the friends; the ladies went to lunch, while the guys were tee-ing off.

My mom and dad wrapped up work and we all decided to grill out for dinner. We feasted on BBQ chicken, veggies, grilled corn on the cob and baked beans. Yum! I love summertime meals at home.

Then my sister had the best idea; taking a walk to Bardons! I have to say, one of the best parts about growing up in Traverse City was the fact that we could always walk or ride our bikes anywhere. We would ride our bikes to our friend’s house, walk to the park- it was the best childhood.

The wether had been spotty all day, but it finally broke so we headed off.

20120728-074459.jpg

20120728-074520.jpg

Bardons is a staple in our town; it’s not summer until you go to get your ice cream! And this trip was special because it was someone’s first.

20120728-074842.jpg

20120728-074907.jpg

20120728-075231.jpg

20120728-075259.jpg

I tried to watch some of the opening ceremonies, but thanks to my five hrs of sleep, I had to fold. Oh well.

It turned out to be a good decision because I crashed and woke up feeling refreshed.

Do you want to know one of my favorite things I love about being home? My dad always makes a big pot of coffee and lines up our mugs.

20120728-080249.jpg

MSU for me, U of M for my sister and Katz’s NYC deli for my dad. 🙂 It’s something that is so predictable and warms my heart.

Once little Ms. Natalie wakes up, we are heading down to the farmers market. Hope you are all having a great weekend!

Xo-
BB

Leave a Reply

