Aside

Vacation Nation

17 Aug

The travel bug hits me a lot. Like, a lot, lot. I am always game to jump in the car for a road trip (even for the day) or am planning the next big adventure. I have a few places on my bucket list of places I am dying to go/ things to see.

Our last bigvacation was in October to Europe (not to shabby) and then back in April when we drove to North Carolina and South Carolina. Over the summer we have gone on trips up north, Chicago and a few day trips, but I’m ready to set my sights on the next vacation.

Budget Travel recently posted an article on the 20 places every American should see in their lifetime. I am a sucker for these lists and thought I would see where I have been so far.

20 Places Every American Should See:

  1. Grand Canyon
  2. Yellowstone National Park
  3. Highway 1, California
  4. Magic Kingdom (Orlando, Florida)
  5. Times Square, New York City
  6. Las Vegas Strip
  7. Hollywood Walk of Fame
  8. South Beach (Miami, Florida)
  9. French Quarter (New Orleans, Louisiana)
  10. Gettysburg National Military Park
  11. Nashville, Tennessee
  12. National Mall, Washington, D.C.
  13. Independence National Historical Park (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
  14. Taos Pueblo, New Mexico
  15. Fenway Park (Boston, Massachusetts)
  16. Civil Rights District (Atlanta, Georgia)
  17. Architecture in Chicago, Illinois
  18. Pearl Harbor
  19. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
  20. Ellis Island, New Jersey

Not too shabby! 12/20 seems decent for destinations that are ‘eh, alright. IMO- I would rather sit on the beaches of San Diego, spend the day in my home town or vacation on an island. But, hey, that’s just me.

So, the wheels are turning over here. I’m getting ready to plan our next move…the question is, where to this time?

For now, I am off to our annual weekend trip in Leland. My girlfriend has a house on the water and a group of us head up once a year for our annual end of the summer vacation. Last year was a total blast, I can’t wait for the fun that is in store!

What was your favorite vacation/

Any suggestions?

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

