Aside

A Year in the Blink of an Eye

14 Sep

One year ago I got a call from my brother-in-law with the news we had all been waiting for; Natalie McGovern had arrived.

Philip and I drove to Chicago to meet our new niece. From that day forward I have felt a new place in my heart that warms when I hear her in the background during calls with my sister, when I hold her or see her latest picture on her blog. (Yes, she has her own blog.)

Natalie has added something to my life, though I don’t know if I could put it into words. It’s not anything I knew was missing. But there is something different. I can only narrow this down to love.

What truly boggles my mind is how I can feel this love before she was born, how it has grown in 365 days – but more so, what it must feel like to be a mom. To see your child grow, to love more than you can imagine.

Now, I understand that everyone thinks their kid is the cutest one. But it’s not so much their appearance that makes us so biased, rather, a we are reflecting what they have added to our lives; love, joy and beauty as we have never seen or felt before.

Happy first birthday to the beautiful Natalie. We love you so much. Xoxo.

20120914-092124.jpg

20120914-092232.jpg

20120914-092323.jpg

20120914-092351.jpg

20120914-092449.jpg

20120914-092621.jpg

Leave a Reply

