Aside

Cooking Prep for the Week

27 Sep

On Sunday we had a fairly relaxing day; not a lot of plans, just a few to-dos. So, I decided to take the opportunity to prep my food for the week.

After a quick trip to the market and thanks to a generious neighbor who has a lush garden, we were stocked for the week. However, we have a lot of evening commitments this week cutting down prep time at night. When we are short on time, it is all too easy to grab take out or make choices that aren’t as great for our health.

First up, I turned on the oven to begin preheating while I started chopping. On the cutting board I had:

  • onions
  • sweet potatoes
  • squash
  • tomatoes
  • mango
  • chicken

I threw the tomatoes in first for about 40 minutes.

Once those finished roasting, I set them to the side to cool and loaded in the next round; bacon and squash.

Simultaniously, I measured out one cup of quinoa and two cups of water, brought that to a boil and let it cook with the lid on for 15 minutes.

I’m telling you, we were rocking and rolling!!

Finally, after the bacon and squash finished (about 20-25 min), I pulled those out and threw in the sweet potatoes.

This batch got a little away from me. But, I am still learning my new oven. Oh well.

Since the tots take about 30 minutes, I cleaned up my area and began pulling the skins off of the tomatoes since they were finally cool to the touch. My plan is to whip these bad boys into a soup – perfect for fall.

I also took this time to roll out the remaining dough from girl’s night. After a few spins with the rolling pin, I put them over a low flame on the grill and had three pizza pies ready for topping.

All in all, I prepped a full week’s worth of dinner in two hours. With a little thought and planning you are well on your way to some delicious, easy week night meals.

Tips:

  • Chop everything at once. Or, chop, drop and chop again.
  • Think through the timing. The items that cooked at the same temp went in at the same time. Two birds, one stone.
  • Set a timer! Just because they go in at the same time does not mean they come out at the same time.
  • Use the oven and the stove. I also like to hard boil eggs or make up a few breakfast items for the week (omelettes, a big batch of oatmeal). These items cook low and slow so there is no concern about walking away for a second to work on another food.
  • Before you start – meal plan! Figure out what you want to eat for the week, main dishes, sides and sweets.

How do you prep for the week?

What are your best tips for eating healthy while on the run?

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

