Aside

Beauty in the Silence

10 Oct

Last night was another yoga session with my favorite instructor.

She began class in child’s pose for 5 minutes of quiet meditation. She talked to us about society’s expectation for us to be busy – always looking at our phone, keeping a full social calendar, heck, we even DVR shows becasue we are ‘too busy’. She challenged us to sit still and be okay with the stillness. It was truly challenging. My body was motionless, but my mind was hard to quiet. It was running through to-do lists, dinner ideas, thinking of how happy I was to be at class. I could not clear my mind.

Have you ever realized how difficult it can be to be quiet both physiclaly and mentally?

Try it, I dare you.

XO-

BB

3 Responses to “Beauty in the Silence”

  1. ~jenniferlynn October 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    Where do you take your yoga classes? I am in the Metro area, too, and juts discovered yoga. Been only to two classes so far, but it is amazing!

    • BalancingB October 18, 2012 at 8:02 am #

      I go to Lifetime Fitness gym. I have taken a few classes at studios, but only while on vacation. Do you have a place in the Metro-D area? I’d love to get into the practice more and even Pilates.

      • ~jenniferlynn October 18, 2012 at 8:16 am #

        I’m very new to yoga, but I took a couple classes at Center for Massage in Plymouth; I had a Groupon 🙂 I’m a beginner, and the classes were super small, so it’s been working out well so far. I’d love to try Bikram one day, too!

Leave a Reply

