Aside

On Top of the World

5 Nov

Happy Monday all!

I am loving today because I am still on vacation – extended weekend for the win! But lets back up to this past weekend because it was amaz-hing.

FRIDAY

On Friday, Phil and I hit the road for Chicago. We were so ready for a vacation and decided that Chicago met all of our criteria; within driving distance and lots of fun things to do! Despite some traffic that tried to slow us down, we made it into the city and bee-lined it to Bucktown pub to meet up with my sister and her husband who were out on the town. We had such a great time hanging with them. Like, why do these people not live closer to us so we can be BFFs all the time, fun. 🙂

SATURDAY

Friday night was a late one, and adding on the hour time difference, I think I saw my usual wake-up call time. ::Rock-stars::

I woke up without an alarm and I knew right then and there we were going to have a great weekend. Seriously, I love waking up on my own and even better? Waking up without a to-do list. Let me do my happy dance.

OK, I’m back.

I hit up the gym, we took our times munching on breakfast (around lunch time), sipping coffee and finally rolling out to the cool, crisp air of the city. The weather was nothing short of a perfect November day; mid-fourties, sunny and no wind. I was able to rock my cutie boots and jacket, but not be bundled like a marshmallow. Perfection.

We spent the afternoon on the Mag Mile. You don’t need details, we could be here all day. But, it was glorious.

Around 6pm we hit up the mini mart for some adult beverages – time to get this party started! Phil made reservations for us at a very special location at 9pm, so we spent an hour resting and then got ready for an exciting and special night. The John Hancock building is a landmark in Chicago and houses the Signature Room; a fabulous restaurant on the 95th floor. Yes, you are almost on top of the world, while enjoying an amazing meal. And lucky me, I had the best date to share the night with.

After the trip to the top, we were seated next to the window and spent plenty of time enjoying the view. It never got old.

We moved on to some wine and apps, and our meals.

The meal ended with a special pumpkin mini-cupcake with cream cheese frosting.

I cannot think of any better way to ring in the big 3-0. I felt so special; sitting on top of the city with my husband it was an awesome, awesome surprise.

SUNDAY

Sunday started much like Saturday (workout, lazy eats and coffee). We gathered up our stuff and headed over to visit with my sister, brother-in-law and niece. It was again a perfect day, so we loaded up the peanut and headed out to a late lunch in their neighborhood. I have always heard of Smoke Daddy (my family raves about it), but Phil and I have never been. Well, Sunday was the day.

The food was so good, but even better were their bbq sauces. Wow! The mustard bbq was so, so good and totally unique. I’m kicking myself for not bringing some home.

Someone loved the mac and cheese!

I’m so glad we were able to go over to their place and visit for a few hours before heading back home.

I cannot say enough good things about this past weekend. It was wonderful start to finish.

Hope you all had a great one, too!

XO-

BB

4 Responses to “On Top of the World”

  1. lifealawife November 6, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I have been to a restaurant like that in Boston and the view was SO amazing that pictures just wouldn’t do it justice! Happy 30th 🙂

    • BalancingB November 6, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      I love Boston, where did you go to dinner? Thanks so much for the birthday wish. 🙂

    • BalancingB November 6, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Love the little things. Thanks for the birthday love!

  2. IHeartVegetables November 6, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Waking up without an alarm is seriously one of the greatest feelings ever!!! It sounds like you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

