Aside

Yoga Ditcher

9 Nov

Happy Friday!

I am s-t-o-k-e-d that we reached the end of the week. Sure, sure, I only worked half a week, but I still love my Fridays.

Today started at the gym- per ush. But last night was a different story. I was all stoked for my weekly yoga class when I hit a wall in the middle of work. I knew this wouldn’t be good. My motivation started to fade, I tried to hold on, drink some cold water, stay focused. But, despite my best efforts, I could feel my commitment recessing.

I called bestie who was sharing my feelings. After a few minutes of chatting, we decided to skip class and met up so I could give her my thank you gift. Katie and Chad babysat Henry while we were in Chicago last weekend. They took such good care of him and went way above and beyond. We’re so lucky to have great friends!

Back to the topic at hand – I was listening to a Jillian Michael’s podcast about honoring your body. She talked about listening to what it really needs instead of forcing, stuffing and masking our feelings. So, I stopped. I was quiet and listened to what my body needed, and it was not a late night at the gym (class ends at 9:15pm with a 30 min drive home afterwards).

I went home, got into my pjs and crawled into bed with my favorite peanut.

 

And do you want to know what? It was exactly what I needed. I did not question my decision, I had listened to myself and that is always right in the end.

 

20121109-122223.jpg

Leave a Reply

