Aside

Eating and Exploring San Fransisco

13 Nov

Last time we chatted, I was heading out the door to the conference that I am attending for work in San Francisco.  I met up with some people for lunch and then jumped into some sessions. I learned a lot and met some interesting people as well. Two signs of a great conference!

In between sessions, I headed back to my room for a sweet snack. There is a super Target not even a block away, so I decided to refuel with some good eats vs. snacking on cookies and coffee (although I wanted to fill my pockets!).

Traveling is one of my favorite things to do with my free time; I’m always planning Phil and my next trip, getaway or even a drive. However, I am a fairly particular eater, which can pose as a challenge when outside of my natural surroundings. One challenge is staying active while on the road and the other is eating. I usually do some research before taking off to locate some staples; grocery stores, Whole Foods, Starbucks.

Lately, I’ve become a bit lax with my eating. And to be honest, I have not had a great focus and intention during my workouts. So, with a very special wedding just seven weeks out, I’m making a concerted effort to improve both parts of my life.

For example, eating a yogurt and taking a walk between sessions.

After the conference, I made it back to my room for part two of my workout.  I did 30 minutes of toning moves. My goal is to workout 5-6 days a week, twice a day. I decided to break up my workout; cardio in the am and toning in the pm.

I’m not going to lie, it’s tough but I felt great after a day of workouts and eating. I stayed focused and ate an awesome dinner while catching up on work.

20121112-141401.jpg

The night wrapped with some Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Seriously love that show. I packed up my room and prepped myself as much as possible for my 5am wake-up call this morning.

I gathered my luggage, grabbed a coffee and headed to the airport.

And now I am (hopefully) on the plane heading home. I have a full day of travel to get back to the mitten, but, it looks like I will land before traffic so I hope to beat the rush. Phil has class tonight so I am on puppy duty! I can’t wait to get home to see Henry, get in some cozies and enjoy the comforts of home.

Do you have any travel behaviors? Do you like to travel?

XO-

BB

2 Responses to “Eating and Exploring San Fransisco”

  1. lifealawife November 13, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    I love to travel! I tend to eat a little more lenient when I’m not at home but get very proud of myself when I can stick to a normal routine!

    • BalancingB November 14, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Agree – I do love to enjoy the local cuisine!

Leave a Reply

