Aside

Slowing Down for the Good Stuff

5 Dec

Oh where has the time gone? I feel like just yesterday I was in CA and now I am days deep into the week. Sorry for neglecting you – I love you, don’t leave me.

Life has been beyond busy lately; three trips to the west coast in six weeks. Nine days of work before one day off and then back to it. Holidays. Weddings. Phil taking on his final exams. B.U.S.Y.

I think it is so easy to get caught up in the chaos of the season, which can be fun. But, I also feel like so much goes unnoticed – the sweet, quiet, small moments that are often the most powerful and impactful.

Case and point. I spent the weekend in CA for work, and work I did. Lots of long hours.

But, despite my jet lag, I decided to push my nap aside for a dinner date with my Aunt who lives in San Diego. I didn’t take pictures. I enjoyed her welcoming hug, our chats while we strolled through Old Town looking at all of the local art displays and taking in the whiffs of authentic Mexican dishes hitting the tables. We sipped margaritas and wine over a lovely dinner by a warm fire. The night was relaxing and I remember the scents and the flavors of the food. No pictures necessary.

On Saturday morning, I woke up early to hit up the gym before my flight home. I was about to get dressed when I stopped dead in my tracks. What was I doing? Working out is important but is also an activity I can do any day. Watching the sunrise over the ocean is not.

I quickly got dressed, grabbed a coffee and drove to the coast. I spent the morning breathing in the fresh air, sitting with my thoughts and visiting with some friends.

20121205-135832.jpg

Let me be clear, I am not great at taking my own advice. However, I am challenging myself and others to slow down and see the beauty in the present. Maybe I didn’t burn my calories off, but I took care of myself in a different way that is often overlooked.

I hope you are all having a wonderful week.

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

