Aside

Kick-Start Your Morning: Oatmeal Breakfast Trifle

17 Jan

I don’t know about you guys, but I am not a fan of early mornings without a reason to get up and moving. While I am an AM gymer (yes, that is word), it is motivating to know that my workout is on the books come 7am. And more so, I find breakfast and coffee to be that much better. Maybe because I start dreaming of what I want to eat while I’m knocking out some miles, but I love my breakfast.

Earlier this week I decided to get a little creative. I had a craving for creamy, crunchy and sweet. After an hour at the gym, I couldn’t decide on one, so I resolved to put them all into my breakfast.

This Oatmeal Breakfast Trifle is super filling and delicious because it includes all of the tastes and textures your taste buds could want. And the best part is that you can totally customize to your preference.20130117-073223.jpg

Oatmeal Breakfast Trifle

  • 1/3C oatmeal (I used steel-cut)
  • 1/3C water or milk
  • cinnamon
  • 1/3C Greek yogurt
  • 1/2C fruit of your choice
  • toppings (granola, shredded coconut, nuts, dried fruit or even chocolate chips)

Directions: combine oatmeal, cinnamon and water/milk and make to your liking. I recommend making the oatmeal a bit dry. Stir in Greek yogurt (the oatmeal will absorb some creating a very creamy consistency). And feel free to get crazy with your yogurt flavor!

Chop fruit and set to the site.

Find a glass that is oh-so-pretty and get ready to assemble.

Layer oatmeal/yogurt mixture (half) on the bottom of your glass. Next, top with half of your fruit. At this point, you can layer in your favorite toppings, I went for some crunchy granola. Repeat from the beginning layering oatmeal/yogurt, fruit and toppings and enjoy!

This breakfast is the perfect start to the day clocking in at a reasonable 300 calories (depends on your fixins) and keeps your full until lunch without a problem. And feel free to make a smaller version for days you aren’t a hungry beast or double the recipe for your favorites or store in the fridge for up to two days.

Yum!

XO-

BB

Leave a Reply

